Buying Your Next Cookware Set

Selecting what cookware to buy for your next set of cooking pots and pans can be exciting and challenging. One thing people want is to select the best they could for their money, but they just don’t know where to start.

I think questions like “What is so great about this cookware? or “Is it too expensive?”, will help us decide making a purchase. You can begin by answering a few questions regarding your likes, dislikes, and what kind of lifestyle you lead and may lead in the not so distant future. Cheap cookware won’t last, take it from me. Whether it’s non-stick or thin aluminum they both have flaws that make them questionable when deciding to purchase. Why not spend a bit more and buy pans that have the potential to last a lifetime? Much of the decision in cost will come from the answers to these questions: Why not?

A Beautiful Stew Pot - Your Smart Kitchen

I recommend going to different stores and get the feel of the pans before you buy anything! I’m talking handles, lids, weight etc. Some pans are quite heavy and if you can’t lift it in the store, you’re not going to lift it at home! I have an eclectic mixture of cookware. When I find what I like, I just hunt around for bargains and buy pieces as I need them.

Think about how you cook and stay away from sets of anything. Each type of material has different strengths and weaknesses and will be good for different things. Cast iron is great for some purposes, but not for, say, sautes where rapid heating and cooling is what you’re after. Don’t spend money on expensive stock or pasta pots — for simmering or boiling water, pick up brushed stainless ones at kitchen supply joints. Buy lids there too — they fit every pro-style pan or pot and cost a lot less than the name brand types. Shop sales. There are often good deals on the web.

My main priority is QUALITY. Money is not a primary concern (I am estimating that a good set will run around $800-$1000). My life policy is that I buy the best upfront, that way I do not regret features and feel a need to upgrade. I know there are tons of brands out there.

Why not browse for some quality pots and pans at Your Smart Kitchen. Its my favorite online store and it’s where I bought my great pressure cookers delivered at my door! They got everything from utensils to pots, pans and grills.

Try them yourself.

About coruvial

Getting those years of all work is more than inspiring to sit and express everything worth reading for all ages. But you'll see me more often write about health, cooking and the environment. Drop me a line if you have anything you'd like to talk. I'd be more than happy to hear from you. Carolyn

Leave a Reply

